Gauges

What Does Sharing Mean, Anyway?

December 03, 2014

Everything you ever wanted to know about how to share traffic data with your clients, colleagues and friends.

Gauges is all about making web analytics easier to understand and easier to share with anyone. Let’s take a closer look at what happens when you share a gauge with a friend, coworker, or client!

First, you’ll select a gauge you want to share, and input the email address of the person you’re inviting.

Sharing a gauge

That user will receive an email informing them they’ve been invited to view a gauge:

Gauges invitation email

Once they’ve gotten their email invitation, they’ll be prompted to sign up for a free account, and will be able to sign into their dashboard at gaug.es. The gauge you’ve shared will automatically appear in the left side of their dashboard, and they’ll be able to view all data we collect for that gauge.

As long as you have a valid Gauges subscription, any shared gauges will be available to your invitees. Invited users do not have the same level of permissions as owners, however - they will not be able to change gauge settings, delete gauges, or share gauges with others.